President's Corner

December 2023

Greetings and Happy Holidays!

We are approaching the end of the semester and with it getting closer to the Holiday season. I want to send my best wishes to you and your families for a joyful Holiday celebration and a New Year filled with happiness and prosperity.

Our committees have been working diligently finalizing details for the upcoming 2024 SAEA annual meeting in Atlanta, February 3-6, 2024. The annual meeting program includes outstanding presented papers and organized symposia spanning across teaching, research, and extension. I want to thank Mallory Vestal for organizing the program. The final program will be posted at: The annual meeting agenda includes an outstanding collection of selected papers, organized symposia, selected posters and much more. If you have an accepted paper for the 2024 annual meeting, please don’t forget to upload an electronic version of the final paper or PowerPoint presentation to the ConfTool website, by January 14, 2024 11:59 pm CDT.  Conference registration details and hotel information are posted on the SAEA website and included in the December newsletter below.

We’re excited about the opportunity to engage with faculty, staff, graduate students, and undergraduate students at the 2024 annual meeting, providing a platform for showcasing outstanding agricultural and applied economics work and fostering collaboration and networking opportunities. A heartfelt thank you to all our committees for their dedication and effort in making the annual meeting a success and contributing to the recognition of excellence in teaching, research, and extension programs. Special thanks to our board members Mallory Vestal, Kellie Raper, Elizabeth Canales, John Anderson, Rodney Holcomb, Nathan Smith, and especially Jeff Jordan for his continued and relentless support to the SAEA.

We had an amazing voting turnout for the new board member elections. Congratulations to Andrew Muhammad for being elected as incoming SAEA president and to John Michael Riley for being elected as the new Director. The board and I are looking forward to working with you to serve our members in the coming years. I want to thank Mykel Taylor and Jerrod Penn for stepping forward to run for election to serve the SAEA. I also want to thank the new journal editors, Chris Boyer, Edward Yu, and Michael Vassalos who have transitioned into their role.  Please consider volunteering for one of our committees.

We look forward to seeing you in Atlanta for an annual meeting that promises to be an exceptional gathering for excellent scholarly pursuits!

Best Regards,
Marco A. Palma
SAEA President
Scroll to Top